Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.x

Take a Look Around! is the place to find information about the hilltowns of West Franklin County, Massachusetts.

In addition to the Village of Shelburne Falls, you'll find information about all our towns: Ashfield, Buckland, Charlemont, Colrain, Conway, Hawley, Heath, Plainfield, Rowe, and Shelburne.

Each town has unique, small businesses, offering food, crafts, activities, services, and more.

Browse our business directory!

Shelburne Falls Cultural DistrictCultural District Events

The Village of Shelburne Falls, designated as a Massachusetts Cultural District, hosts a variety of exciting events throughout the year for residents and visitors.

Learn more about the Cultural District.

View All Upcoming Events!


The town has a total area of 40.4 square miles and is located in the southwest corner of Franklin County, along the Hampshire County line. Ashfield is bordered by Buckland to the north, Conway to the east, Goshen to the south, Cummington to the southwest, Plainfield to the west, and Hawley to the northwest. Ashfield is fifteen miles west-southwest of Greenfield, and thirty-five miles north-northwest of Springfield.

Explore Ashfield


The Town of Buckland is a rural, mainly agricultural community with a population near 2,000 people. Buckland shares a downtown business district, known as Shelburne Falls, with the Town of Shelburne. The Route 112 corridor bisects the town and is a scenic highway consisting of a number of small farms and open space. Originally part of the towns of Charlemont and Ashfield, Buckland’s first settlers arrived in 1742.

Explore Buckland


The town of Charlemont is a hilltown community of about 1,300 residents located along the Deerfield River and the scenic Mohawk Trail in northwestern Massachusetts. Settled in 1744, Charlemont covers 26 square miles and is still home to working farms and cottage industries as well as many recreational opportunities from whitewater rafting to downhill skiing.

Explore Charlemont


The Town of Colrain is located in Franklin County north of Shelburne Falls. The eastern border of Colrain follows the Green River, bordering Leyden with Greenfield to the southeast. To the west lies Heath, with Charlemont to the southwest, and to the north are the towns of Halifax and Guilford Vermont. The town is home to two state forests, Catamount State Forest to the Southwest, and half of the H.O. Cook State Forest.

Explore Colrain


The Town of Conway lies in the foothills of the Berkshires just west of the Connecticut River Valley, a region rich in agriculture. Conway shares boundaries with seven other towns: Buckland and Shelburne Falls to the north, Deerfield to the east and north, Whately and Williamsburg to the south, and Ashfield and Goshen to the west. It is the first hilltown northbound on Route 116.

Explore Conway


The Town of Hawley Massachusetts was founded in 1792 and is located in Franklin County. Hawley consists of about 340 year-round residents and is one of the most wintry towns in Massachusetts. The town has no stores and no industry, but it does contain limited potato and dairy farms. Hawley is the home of a true volunteer government.

Explore Hawley


Heath, incorporated in 1785, is named after Revolutionary War General William Heath. The town comprises a total area of 24.9 square miles with a population of 706. It is a "Right To Farm Community" with rolling hills, stone walls, forests and streams. The Heath Agricultural Society Fair, held two week-ends before Labor Day annually, features a lots of fun for young and old alike.

Explore Heath


The town of Plainfield, Massachusetts was founded in 1807 and is located in Hampshire County. Plainfield contains about 600 year-round residents. Those in the area are encouraged to stop at the Deer Hill State Reservation as well as the Dubuque Memorial State Forest for a relaxing day outdoors. Enjoy the cool breeze and scenic views of Plainfield, Massachusetts.

Explore Plainfield


Rowe is a small hilltown bordered on the north by Whitingham VT. It is nestled in an area of scenic beauty, with wooded mountains, clear brooks and the Deerfield River on its western border. The Rowe Historical Society maintains a historical museum documenting the history of the town, including the construction of the Hoosac Tunnel and much more.

Explore Rowe


Shelburne was first settled in 1756 as part of Deerfield, Massachusetts known then as "Deerfield Northwest." It was initially organized as the district of Shelburne in 1768 (named in honor of William Petty, 2nd Earl of Shelburne) and was officially incorporated as a town in 1775.

Explore Shelburne